top of page

A New Semester Requires an Update


The start of a new semester has begun, and this means that it is time for an update to my portfolio, along with adding new course projects to showcase. Some of the changes I have made include updating pages that were already established. My home page paragraph needed to reflect the new coursework I am undertaking that will bring new discussion topics and projects that I will be adding throughout the semester. I updated the sections in About Me to include my exciting move to Hawaii after graduation and a revision to the two paragraphs to give them more of a professional tone than a personal one. I added relevant courses I am studying this semester to the education portion of my resume, and I created two new sections to the Course Projects page for upcoming projects in my COMM 315W Communications Between the Sexes class. I finally was able to incorporate the projects from a public relations writing course that I thoroughly enjoyed last semester, in hopes to give potential employers a view into my writing abilities within the field.

I am becoming more confident in my online presence with each new project, growth in my personal business, and in my continued desire to build this portfolio. I am a mature student, so my resume is extensive in my work experience, and it is multifaceted, which I feel can be a strength when viewed by others. I could continue to expand my Blog page with reflections on current events and hot topics vibrating through the industries of interest to me. I still have a conviction to keep this portfolio professional with a personal touch because I want these pages to demonstrate my competency and personality. I feel my social media presence absolutely accomplishes this task because social media is where my small business thrives. I share my knowledge directly related to my business, along with showing my ability to connect with others and to maintain communications. Funny enough, I even proofread my posts! I continuously attempt to keep a balance between my professional and personal life, since I do not wish to disrupt the network I am establishing online.

I think the only questions I have at this stage in my ePortfolio project are directed toward its continual development and improvement. How can I continue to grow my blog? What projects best showcase to viewers what I wish to exhibit? How do I maintain the balance of professional and personality on the pages within the portfolio? I look forward to constantly finding the answers to these questions.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page